Winged eyeliner?!

Hi! So today is Wednesday and I had promised a fab post, well, what’s better than a tutorial for one of a girls ultimate beauty struggles? Personally, I find winged eyeliner one of the hardest things to do make-up wise so I figured why not master it and write a blog post! This was also inspired by essiebutton’s most recent video!

So firstly, warning, I am not a make up artist by any means but seeing as I buy so much of the stuff I think I may as well (attempt to) learn how to use it. Winged eyeliner, for me at least, requires patience and practice. Never rush a winged look! Here’s my step by step guide on winging it (excuse the pun):
1) To start you will definitely need-
a liquid eyeliner, (I prefer the felt pen type mine is- L’Oréal)
a kohl/pencil eyeliner (mine’s rimmel scandal eyes)
any black eyeshadow and small eye shadow brush
and finally your fave mascara!

20140408-232806.jpg
2) Okay so firstly I did my makeup how I normally would, leaving the eye pretty plain because of the bold wing.

20140408-232929.jpg
3) I started by drawing a slant, extending out from my lower lash line upwards at a winged angle, and then joining this to the upper lash line and filling in to create a small triangle.

20140408-233056.jpg
4) After achieving my desired length wing on both eyes, making sure they were as even as possible, I then started to draw a line in the centre -as close to my upper lash line as possible- to create a point to connect with.

20140408-233312.jpg
5) I then joined the triangle and line together, sticking close to my lash line and creating a smooth, flowing winged-out line on both eyes. This wasn’t too hard as I used my favourite eyeliner which makes it easy to draw, and I took my time so as to avoid my hand shaking.

20140408-233505.jpg
An optional step here is to go over the line with black powder eyeshadow so as to avoid any shiny ‘felt-pen like’ weirdness that sometimes happens 🙂
6) I then tight-lined my upper lash line so as to avoid any annoying ‘gap-ing’ this makes the lashes appear fuller as well.

20140408-233734.jpg
7) I then curled my lashes (optional) and applied my favourite mascara to top and bottom lashes to finish off the look.

20140408-234027.jpg

So that’s it! I hope this was reasonably easy to follow and you can understand my directions:) My best advise is to practice this look as much as you can – I still need it haha!
Please comment below any advise as I am a new blogger, any hints and tips on how you apply winged eyeliner and also any future posts you would like to see.
I really hope this was helpful, speak to you soon!
-Ally
xo

20140408-234636.jpg

8 comments

  1. great post! please check out my blog http://www.lilysbeautyroom.blogspot.co.uk/ and maybe comment!
    thankyou xo

    1. allyblogs · · Reply

      Thanks I have 🙂 x

  2. Nice tutorial! I’m so bad at eye makeup haha ☺️

    1. allyblogs · · Reply

      Thankyou! I just took my time with this practicing has made me more confident and also if you can get an eyeliner that applies easily it’s not too hard!:) I recommend L’Oreal and I’ve heard the Stilla liquid ones are good if your willing to splash out haha xo

  3. nicely done! I SUCK at winged liner. I just gotta practice more though.

    1. allyblogs · · Reply

      Thankyou!:)

  4. It took me so long to master the art of winged liner & now it is my go to look. I love it! Great how to guide!
    http://www.letstalkbeauty.co.uk

    1. Same! Thankyou 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

